Playing With My Emotions

29 Sep

The one thing I realy dislike about searching for jobs for almost a year now is that I am so emotionally invested in finding a job that when what seems like an offer presents itself I get CRAZY excited! Like I start imagining what it would be like to work at whatever job shows interest even if it’s not exactly what I want to do with my life, it’s a damn job and I get excited. I probably get unreasonably excited and shouldn’t envision myself in the position right away because I’ve been duped a few times and it takes a toll on me emotionally. I’m not a very emotional person so for me to get emotional it’s…well…wierd to me. A couple of times I’ve gotten emails asking me to fill out applications and the companies questionaires and I do it and then they send me an email back telling me to be considered for employment they need my credit score or something equally stupid that makes no sense. And each and every time it’s a let down, not to mention the fact that they present themselves as real organizations when they just want to solicit information. I really hate that, because I’m already on edge about finding a job and for someone to dangle something in front of me really plays with my emotions. Has anyone else had to deal with this stuff?? Any idea how I can know before I apply to places that they aren’t worth the time?

Thought of the day # 3
I hate having to deal with my emotions so I need a damn job already!

6 Responses to “Playing With My Emotions”

  1. Blond Duck September 29, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m so sorry! I’ve been unemployed for awhile–it’s really tough in a hard market!

    • cblorber October 7, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      Yes it’s tough just have to try and keep our spirits up!

  2. the cubicle's backporch October 1, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    I was exactly where you are and it was horrible! My state’s unemployment requirements were that I apply for at least 3 jobs a week… and there were some weeks where there was NOTHING. NEW.

    Are you using indeed.com? It was the most comprehensive search site I found. I still used the other ones (and looked at company-specific sites) but indeed was pretty good.

    What industry are you in? What finally led me to the end of my unemployment was that I had only been applying for engineering jobs. And then I realized that since I one day wanted to be a manager, why not try now? So I applied for a production supervisor position. And they saw my resume and brought me in for an interview…for an engineering position that they didn’t have advertised yet. Which I got and started a week later.

    I think you should ask yourself what you would really enjoy doing and then start looking for jobs to lead you in that direction.

    Another big thing is to have several different resumes that target different areas. So if you apply for position A that wants computer skills, send resume 1 that highlights your computer skills. If you apply for position B that wants people skills, send resume 2 that highlights your skills in working with various groups and backgrounds.

    Another thing I would do is send a copy of my resume and cover letter to the company, attention to the HR department (with a name if it was listed on the job description) through the regular mail AFTER I applied online. I would just reiterate that I had applied online but wanted to follow up with my enthusiasm for the position and was attaching a resume for their review.

    I think people today really underestimate the ‘thank you’ letter after the interview too. I read a couple of good articles on what to say so I always sent a thank you letter to the interviewee, thanking them for their time, repeating something from the interview (after our discussion, I firmly believe my skills in project management would be an asset to your team on the new pump project, etc) and that way you trigger their memory of you.

    Are you on linkedin.com? That site can be good at using people you know to help locate job openings that you didn’t know about or hadn’t thought of. Networking is important too. I once got a name of someone at a company from a guy I started talking to at a recycling center. Ended up, his daughter worked at a place that regularly hired engineers. I didn’t end up needing to get in touch with her, but it was still nice!

    Have you sent resumes to recruiters? That helps too, even if they don’t have anything open now they will keep you in their database.

    Goodluck and don’t let it get you down! You’re right in that you’re one of the lucky ones and can survive on 1 (well, a little over 1, but not 2) paychecks!!

    There’s always things like selling 31 or MaryKay too…. if you’re into that sort of thing!

    • cblorber October 7, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      I LOVE indeed.com I just recently found it and I also started using more then one resume like you suggest! The problem is I am in accounts receivable and my degree is in office management but I’ve only had experience in AR so it’s difficult to break into the administrative world where there is a ton of jobs around here but so many applicants!! Linked in I do have an account but I don’t use because I only have my old employers and that market on there, which I will have to update I didn’t think about it but that’s a good idea! Thank you so much for the info it’s nice to hear how others went through unemployment!

  3. Blond Duck October 3, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better!

    • cblorber October 7, 2011 at 2:32 am #

      Thank you I am feeling better! I think I’m going to try making your pumpkin bread soon!

Leave a Reply

